A bunch of kale, two plates: Baked Eggs with Kale

You start out with one bunch of kale.  It can be the curly kind, the flat dino-kind.  It can be deep blue teal or hunter green.  Kale is a super food; it’s packed full of calcium, iron, magnesium.  Because it grows in cool weather, you can find it at local farmer’s markets throughout the year.

I like to cook in the morning, if I have the luxury.  Cooking in the morning feels organic.  I’ll wake up and put on either Pandora or my local NPR station and start with a pot of coffee.  I’ll sip one or two cups as I chop.  The aromas wake me up.

Because I had an entire bunch of kale, I decided to make two dishes: Baked Eggs and Kale and Chicken Vegetable Soup with Kale.

I love to make Baked Eggs with Kale on rainy mornings like this one.  It’s warming without being heavy.  It’s a simple dish, but so delicious.  I am starving when I wake so I don’t have time to chop onions or grate garlic.  I reach for the spice cabinet and grab onion and garlic powder.  If you have time you can start with an onion and garlic base.

Because the gloom was due to stretch throughout the day, I decided to make a soup with rich autumnal colors and packed with flavor.


Baked Eggs with Kale

Ingredients

  • 1/3 bunch kale (about 4-5 leaves), roughly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon safflower or canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • two large eggs
  • 1-2 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Turn on your oven broiler to 500 degrees.
  2. Heat oil in a small sauté pan over medium heat.  Once warmed, add chopped kale and sprinkle with onion and garlic powder.  Stir occasionally until kale becomes dark and wilted.
  3. Transfer kale into a small oven-proof dish and spread along the bottom, evenly.
  4. Break two eggs on top of the kale mixture.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Place eggs and kale dish under broiler for 5-8 minutes until eggs whites are completely white, cheese is golden but yolk remains runny.  Don’t leave the eggs unattended as they bake, as they cook rather quickly.

DOWNLOAD RECIPE PDF: Baked Eggs with Kale

One response to “A bunch of kale, two plates: Baked Eggs with Kale

  1. Pingback: Baked Eggs with Kale | Nourishing and Dissertating·

Leave a Reply

