Guerrilla Nori Rolls with Avocado and Smoked Salmon

I know close to nothing about sushi rolls. I know how to use chopsticks. I know where to buy myself some great sushi here in Durham. But I don’t know how to make sticky rice and I don’t have the bamboo mat. I started watching Jiro Dreams of Sushi at 2:00am during a bout of insomnia the other night and 5 minutes into it I fell asleep.

I know that today I am tight on time. Have some major deadlines tomorrow. In the bank parking lot I almost thought about buying fast food. But the options close by were Chick-Fil-A and Burger King. Thanks to political reasons and some PETA propaganda during high school I did a U-Turn toward home empty-handed and my tires squeaked.

Is it weird that I have Nori sheets sitting in my pantry waiting to be used? Or an overabundance of ripe avocado at all times? That I crave wild-caught Alaskan salmon? Probably.

The hand rolls I concocted today were not only spontaneous, it’s safe to say they were far from traditional. I am sure someone better versed in sushi will laugh so hard at this post it will bring tears to their eyes. But in times of desperate hunger we get creative.

Guerrilla Nori Rolls with Avocado and Smoked Salmon

  • 2 sheets Toasted Nori
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I used brown rice with quinoa)
  • 1/2 ripe avocado, skin removed and sliced
  • 1.5 ounces smoked wild-caught Alaskan Salmon
  • 3-4 tablespoons cream cheese
  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled and julienned
  • 7-8 chives, chopped

  1. Lay out the Nori sheet so that it looks like a diamond.
  2. In the middle of the Nori, spread out 1/2 cup of rice per sheet.
  3. Place half of the salmon on top of the rice, then add the avocado slices.
  4. Cut up cream cheese into rectangles and place in a vertical line over rice, salmon and avocado.
  5. Add sliced cucumbers to each roll, then sprinkle chives over top.
  6. Leaving the top of the sheet open, roll the sides of the Nori over one another, forming the shape of a cone. Close the bottom tab.

Makes two hand rolls.

3 responses to “Guerrilla Nori Rolls with Avocado and Smoked Salmon

  1. Thank you! I love Chestnut Hill! We were looking at Mount Airy, right next door. Blue Bell is very close to my husband’s job, very nice, but I’d love to be closer to the city. Driving up to visit from NC tomorrow, actually. I’m hoping I-95 isn’t too much of a mess. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. Pingback: Deconstructed Philadelphia Roll | rooster & wheat·

Leave a Reply

