Chèvre, Spinach & Chive Omelette

It was so cold last night I had to turn on the heat.  I was waiting for it to kick on.  And waiting.  I piled on a few blankets.  Got my slippers out of my still unpacked luggage from my trip to Chile.  (The luggage contains only winter clothing, so there was no need to unpack it.)  After I realized that our state-of-the-art, energy-efficient heating system was not working, I saw that I had actually switched on the A/C.  Once I pressed the right button and nestled into my down blanket I was finally warm again.  When I woke up this morning both of my dogs had burrowed in with me.  We were toasty warm.  I love the colder months.

I don’t mind the gray, I don’t mind the cold.  While living in Texas, I actually discovered that months upon months of days without rain and only sun drives me slightly insane.  I prefer the diffused light, the deep evergreen, the fog, the trickles of water.  The smell of decaying leaves.

I hadn’t planned out this recipe, but had chèvre in the fridge for another recipe later this week.  The chives were left over from sushi.  Of course I had eggs.  I always have eggs.  Are you beginning to worry about my cholesterol yet?

I prefer eggs in the morning.  I’m more a savory girl in the sweet vs. savory war.  Eggs are one of nature’s leanest, most complete proteins.  Mine are local, of course, enhanced with Omega-3.  One of the best eggs producers I’ve ever found is Vital Farms outside of Austin, Texas.  You can buy their product in just about any Whole Foods.  I prefer, though, to buy fresh, local eggs because they are cheaper, but if you’re on the fence about eggs Vital Farms is the way to go.

It has been a huge want of mine to raise hens in my backyard.  But there are wants and then there are needs, and hens are just not on the priority list.  I think they would drive my dogs absolutely crazy.  And my neighbors, too.  And with my impending move, it doesn’t seem plausible.  Can you imagine me, two dogs and a bunch of chickens stuffed into a Honda Fit for a 7-hour drive up I-95?  Don’t think so.

Chèvre, Spinach & Chive Omelette

(Adapted from Fantôme Farm)

Ingredients

For the omelette:

  • 1/2 tablespoon safflower oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon fat-free half and half
  • 10 chives, finely chopped
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • a few shakes of salt and pepper

For the filling:

  • 1/4-1/2 cup chopped baby spinach
  • 1/2 inch slice of chèvre cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar or monterrey jack cheese

  1. Heat safflower oil in a non-stick skillet over medium-low heat.
  2. Combine eggs, half and half, nutmeg, salt, pepper and chives in a large bowl.  Beat together vigorously until combined.
  3. Once skillet has warmed, pick up and turn so that oil is evenly coating the entire surface.
  4. Immediately pour egg mixture into skillet.
  5. After a few minutes when the bottom of the eggs begin to turn white and set, pick up skillet and roll into a circle so that the runny eggs flow to the sides.  Place back on heat and repeat until eggs are mostly set and a film is developing around the edges.
  6. Place chopped spinach, then cheddar and globs of chèvre along the middle of the omelette.  As filling melts, gently run a spatula along the edge of the omelette to work it away from the pan and make sure it no longer sticks.
  7. Once the eggs are no longer as runny and the fillings have melted, flip one third of the omelette into the center with spatula.
  8. Lift the skillet off of the heat and hold over your plate.  Sliding the omelette out of the pan, place unflipped side of the omelette onto plate and roll the center (with the already flipped side) on top.

3 responses to “Chèvre, Spinach & Chive Omelette

    • I don’t do the crazy style that the PBS French Chef Jacques Pépin teaches which makes the omelet fluffier. It involves vigorous fork movements in the pan and all I can think about is the metal and non-stick crap I’m scraping into my food!

Leave a Reply

