Turkey, Garlic Spinach and Boursin Cheese Panini

2012-12-22_13-32-09_311

Winter sandwiches should be warm and melty.  Preferably pressed.  Served with a stout and eaten in front of a fire.

It’s been cold and blustery here in the Philadelphia suburbs.  I got here to my husband’s apartment a few days ago.  Fortunately our time apart (me in graduate school in one state, him working in another) is drawing to a close.

2012-12-21_15-55-51_673

Have you ever been to the Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia?  You know that stand with the hot turkey sandwiches?  Where you can get a full turkey dinner stuffed between two slices of bread?  That’s what we wanted to create with our left over turkey (information on brine coming soon!).

2012-12-21_15-59-06_211

Aside from the kitchen in his apartment being kind of tiny, all of my kitchen stuff is still at our house in North Carolina.  He’s been getting by on the bare essentials (hand me down cooking stuff from my mom, my old plates from college and a few other things we bought at IKEA).  I realized we were in serious trouble when I went to open a bottle of wine and he didn’t have a corkscrew.  But what do all men usually have in their kitchens?  College boys and older bachelors alike?  (Gross generalization, I know.)  A George Foreman Grill.   So, my friends, that’s how we made these amazing panini.

(Normally I would make my own Cranberry sauce, but it wasn’t something I’d ever dream of attempting with such limitations.  So this is totally from a can.  I’m not ashamed.)

2012-12-22_13-23-57_206

Turkey, Garlic Spinach and Boursin Cheese Panini

Ingredients

  • 4 slices thick bread (sourdough works best, sliced approx. 3/4 inch thick)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1-1 1/2 cup fresh spinach
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup cranberry sauce
  • 4 tablespoons Boursin cheese (we used Vermont Cheddar and Sage flavor)
  • Turkey breast, thickly sliced (left over Thanksgiving turkey is the best)
  1. Preheat George Foreman Grill to 300 degrees F.
  2. In a medium saute pan or skillet, heat olive oil and garlic to medium heat.
  3. Sauté spinach until wilted.  Remove from heat.
  4. On one piece of bread, generously spread 1-2 tablespoons Boursin cheese. On the other slice, spread 1-2 teaspoons of cranberry sauce.
  5. Repeat for additional sandwiches.
  6. Spoon spinach over cheese.
  7. Place pieces of turkey breast over cranberry sauce.
  8. Put together sandwiches.
  9. Press together in a George Foreman grill until sandwich is warm and bread crispy, between 3-5 minutes.  As an alternative, melt butter in a clean skillet and grill like grilled cheese.  Another possibility to give the sandwich the “pressed” panino feel would be to place foil over the top and place a heavy object such as a brick on top while toasting each side.

Note: This is not the time to use really soft, squishy fluffy bread.  It will make the inside of the panino really soggy.  A slightly drier sourdough is best, not sliced too too thick.

Makes 2 servings

2012-12-21_23-22-31_608

Our roaring fire.

One response to “Turkey, Garlic Spinach and Boursin Cheese Panini

  1. I am *really* into this but I’ve only got whole wheat bread and mozzarella or shredded parmesan on hand. I might experiment, though, because I am always looking for new ways to eat leftover turkey!

Leave a Reply

