Yogi Chai Tea

IMG_0414

Once upon a time I lived in Austin, Texas and I was really into yoga.  My practice has suffered since I moved to North Carolina.  When I lived in Austin, I had a work study position at a great studio called Yogayoga where I could clean once a week in exchange for yoga credits.  It was the perfect arrangement for a poor graduate student who loved my time on the mat.  I especially loved Yogayoga.

IMG_0423

After all classes, Yogayoga serves small cups of their signature Yogi Tea, gently sweetened and cut with soy milk.  Fortunately for me, they are also generous enough to post their tea recipe online.  I’m practicing yoga again, but I miss the aroma of the yogi tea which used to fill Yogayoga’s studios.  So I decided to make a batch of my own.

IMG_0431

I make mine in the crock pot and allow it to simmer for several hours.  It makes my house smell amazing.  It’s important not to add the actual tea until the very end, I like to wait until I’m about to serve it.  Tea that has been steeped for too long becomes bitter, so I laddle the chai mix into a cup with an individual tea bag.  You can also skip the tea all together as the spices make a delicious tea on its own without the caffeine!

IMG_0440

If you don’t have a crock pot you can make this on the stove top.  I pre-boil the water in an electric tea kettle. After a few hours the water turns into a deep caramel brown.  I sweeten mine with a spoonful of honey and add some cream.  I usually allow the spices to stay in the tea while it cools and then fish them out before transferring to an airtight container and refrigerate until I want another glass!

IMG_0473

IMG_0476

Yogi Chai Tea

(Adapted from Yogayoga)

Ingredients

  • 2 quarts water, boiled
  • 2-3 sticks cinnamon
  • 15 whole cloves
  • 20 cardamom pods, split
  • 20 peppercorns
  • 6-8 slices of fresh ginger
  • 1 whole star anise
  • black or green tea (optional)
  • honey and cream or milk to taste (optional)

IMG_0491

  1. Combine all spices in a crock pot or large stock pot.
  2. Add 2 quarts water.  Bring to a boil or our pre-boiled water over the spices.
  3. Reduce to simmer.
  4. Allow to simmer for 2-3 hours on low heat.
  5. Add and strain tea, or pour over individual servings of tea bags in mugs.
  6. Stir in honey and milk to taste.

IMG_0495

2 responses to “Yogi Chai Tea

  1. Pingback: Counter Culture Bourbon Variety | rooster & wheat·

Leave a Reply

