Buckwheat and Cacao Shortbread Cookies

IMG_1356

I have been meaning to buy cacao nibs for quite some time.  I read about them two years ago when I was trying to be vegan and raw foods were all the rage.  I know a few people who are vegans and love it.  I wouldn’t call my foray into veganism “successful.”  Despite getting instructions from a nutritionist, unfortunately, I ended up with iron and vitamin D deficiencies.  Needless to say I am now a reluctant meat eater.  I really like the idea behind veganism and wished it worked for me, but it didn’t.  So I try really hard to buy humane products whenever I can.  I drive 40 minutes directly to the farm to buy my milk for goodness sake!

IMG_1351

Any chance I get to hide whole grains into my foods I take it!  So I loved that these cookies used buckwheat flour.  I also wrote about buckwheat and its health benefits in Spiced Buckwheat Pancakes with Buckwheat Honey.

IMG_1359

One of the best things about shortbread  cookies is that they are dead simple.  I didn’t even have to dig out my beater–I mixed up the entire recipe with a wooden spoon.  Once baked and cooled, they come out crunchy and go great with a glass of milk.

IMG_1360

Good quality butter, vanilla extract and coarsely ground salt are all musts.  I used Himalayan Pink Salt for this recipe.  You can buy a grinder at Trader Joe’s for a pretty reasonable price.

IMG_1366

IMG_1367

The texture of the cacao nibs goes great with the short bread. You get a chocolate taste with a crunch.

IMG_1370

Buckwheat and Cacao Shortbread Cookies

(Adapted from Nibby Buckwheat Butter Cookies)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 pound  (2 sticks) high-quality butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground salt, Himalayan Pink Salt works nicely
  • 1/3 cup cacao nibs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon real vanilla extract

IMG_1382

  1. Combine flours together in a medium bowl.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together softened butter, salt, vanilla and sugar until smooth.
  3. Work cacao nibs into the butter batter.
  4. Starting slowly, stir 1/3 flour mixture into the butter mixture.  Continue adding in thirds until the flour is completely incorporated.  Batter will be thick.
  5. Shape dough into a ball.  Transfer to a large piece of plastic wrap.  Shape into a long roll about 2-inches in diameter.  Wrap in plastic.
  6. Refrigerate for at least 1.5 hours or overnight.
  7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  8. Once dough has become hard, use a sharp knife to make 1/4-inch slices.
  9. Arrange slices on parchment covered baking sheet.
  10. Bake for 12-13 minutes until the edges are brown.
  11. Allow cookies to sit for 1-2 minutes on sheet.
  12. Place on cooling rack until cookies have cooled and hardened.

IMG_1376

IMG_1378

Enjoy with a glass of milk!  Living near Bucks County, I am lucky enough to enjoy Certified Raw Jersey Cow Milk from Birchwood Farms in Newtown, PA.

IMG_1386

Leave a Reply

