Fresh Corn and Cherry Tomato Salad

IMG_2260

If it’s in season, there’s no reason to make corn salad with frozen corn kernels.  Fresh corn is just so much more delicious.  And it’s really not that much work to cut it off the husk.  The best corn and tomato salad I’ve had to date was at Parker & Otis in Durham, NC… one of my all time favorite lunch spots.  If you can’t tell, I’m still very much in mourning over leaving Durham.  If it had been up to me we would have stayed there forever.  I would have even adopted a southern accent.  Seriously.  I miss it so much.  I’m still in a sort of reprocessing my reintegration back to my native Pennsylvania.  And so when I got this corn from my CSA last week I decided to this salad that I’m nostalgic for and missing.

IMG_2262

You drop the corn into a pot of boiling water, but you only leave it in there for about 5 minutes.  The idea isn’t to cook the corn completely like you would for corn on the cob.  You just want to sort of take away the raw taste without cooking it for so long that it becomes mushy.

IMG_2274

Aren’t these cherry tomatoes gorgeous? I picked them myself.  There’s nothing more divine than ripe tomatoes off the vine.

IMG_2281

Fresh Corn and Cherry Tomato Salad

  • 6 small ears of corn or 4 large ears of corn
  • 12 cherry tomatoes, washed and sliced in half
  • 1 bunch basil, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon rice or apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Bring large pot of water to a rapid boil with enough water to submerge the corn.
  2. Shuck ears of corn, removing silk but leaving stems intact.
  3. Cook corn in boiling water for 5-7 minutes.  You want the corn to be cooked, but not so much that it becomes mushy.
  4. Remove corn from boiling water and allow to drain.  Allow to sit until cool to the touch.
  5. Holding the corn cobs by their stems, hold a knife perpendicular to the corn, facing down and away from you.  Trace the cob with the knife, cutting away the kernels, but not so deep that you get pieces of cob.  Cut away all of the kernels and place them into a bowl.
  6. Mix with basil and tomatoes.
  7. Drizzle the mixture with vinegar, olive oil and honey.
  8. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  9. Serve at room temperature or chill in refrigerator for a few hours.

Makes 4-6 servings.

IMG_2283

Leave a Reply

